5 Mind-Bending Books Like The Power of Now

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll know that I’m a massive fan of The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle.

It found me at just the right time when I was experiencing a rough patch, and the simplicity of the message resonated strongly.

Some books strike just the right chord and before I knew it, I was devouring his books and glued to his YouTube lectures, mesmerized by this funny, wise Yoda-like figure.

After beginning a regular meditation ritual (which I’ve continued to this day), I hunted for books with a similar message, each one providing a unique take and important lessons on the spiritual journey.

So, I humbly present five similar books to The Power of Now for your intellectual pleasure. You’re welcome.

5 splendid books like the Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

1. The Miracle of Mindfulness: An Introduction to the Practice of Meditation by Thich Nhat Hanh and Mobi Ho

Thich Nhat Hanh’s book offers a detailed and accessible introduction to the practice of mindfulness.

Hanh begins by explaining what mindfulness is and why it is important.

He then goes on to describe how to bring mindfulness into everyday activities such as eating, walking, and working.

In addition, this revered spiritual figure provides guidance on how to deal with difficult emotions and thoughts.

Throughout the book, Hanh’s writing is clear and concise, making it an ideal resource for those new to mindfulness.

With its practical approach and wise insights, “The Miracle of Mindfulness” is sure to help readers transform their lives for the better.

Pros

  • Provides a wonderful reminder that meditation can be performed anywhere, anytime
  • Supplies simple exercises for anyone wanting to incorporate mindfulness in everday life
  • The book is short and to the point

Cons

  • The examples used, while useful, can become repetitive
  • Might not provide the scientific rigour that some readers find useful

2. A Path with Heart: A Guide Through the Perils and Promises of Spiritual Life by Jack Kornfield

In A Path with Heart, Jack Kornfield offers readers a guide to the perils and promises of spiritual life.

Drawing on his own experience as a Theravada Buddhist monk, Kornfield offers wisdom and advice on how to navigate the challenges of the spiritual path.

He covers topics such as the importance of mindfulness, the dangers of attachments, and the role of compassion in spiritual practice.

Throughout the book, Kornfield stresses the importance of living a life with integrity and purpose.

A Path with Heart is an essential guide for anyone seeking to create a more meaningful and fulfilling life.

Pros

  • Discusses some of the dangers of seeking the spiritual path
  • Provides valuable insights into the practical, not just theoretical, aspects of meditation
  • Kornfield is a former Buddhist monk and trained psychologist (p.h.D), providing a useful integration of Eastern and Western philosophy

Cons

  • Focuses on the Buddhist tradition, which might not be applicable for some secular readers
  • Kornfield is a proponent of recruiting the help of a teacher, which might not be feasible for some readers

3. Freedom from the Known by J. Krishnamurti

In his fantastic read, J. Krishnamurti argues that true freedom comes not from external factors, but from within.

He contends that most people are controlled by their own thoughts and emotions, which prevent them from experiencing true liberation.

To achieve freedom, Krishnamurti advocates for a process of self-awareness and inner transformation.

He believes that by becoming more aware of our thoughts and feelings, we can learn to control them instead of being controlled by them.

Only then can we truly transcend our conditioning.

Krishnamurti’s philosophical ideas have been highly influential, and his book remains required reading for many students of philosophy.

Pros

  • Simply written but contains a powerful message
  • Advises not to follow spiritual gurus (even himself), because you already possess all the answers
  • An important reminder that we have been subject to social and psychological conditioning, including what we must do to break free

Cons

  • Might lack practical application for some readers, who find it hard to apply the teachings in everyday life
  • Despite the simple writing, some may argue that aspects of the content are contradictory

4. The End of Your World: Uncensored Straight Talk on the Nature of Enlightenment by Adyashanti

In this text, Adyashanti provides a clear and concise guide to awakening.

Drawing on his own experience, he shows that enlightenment is not something that happens to us; rather, it is something we all have the potential to realize.

By uncovering our own true nature, we can come to a place of peace and stillness that is beyond the turmoil of our everyday lives.

In addition, we can also find the compassion and wisdom to navigate life’s challenges with grace and ease.

Ultimately, Adyashanti’s book is an invitation to remember our essential goodness and to live from our deepest truth.

Pros

  • Highlights the fact that many people exist in a dream state of illusion
  • Uses simple language to impart lessons from his own spiritual awakening
  • Discusses what to do having achieved an enlightened state, something which many books fail to mention

Cons

  • Could do a better job of referencing influences
  • The material could be condensed into a more concise account

5. Be As You Are: The Teachings of Sri Ramana Maharshi by Ramana Maharshi

In Be As You Are, the Indian sage Ramana Maharshi offers his essential teachings on self-realization.

Drawing from both Vedantic and yogic traditions, Ramana emphasizes the importance of self-inquiry as a path to liberation.

He teaches that the true Self is not the ego or the body, but the immortal Spirit that lies beyond all apparent distinctions.

Through his lucid and accessible writing, Ramana offers readers a powerful tool for coming to a direct experience of their own true nature.

In doing so, he provides an invaluable guide for those seeking to awaken to their true identity.

Pros

  • Regarded by many meditators as a classic in the non-dual approach to spiritual practice
  • The book is presented in question and answer format, which might make the information more accessible for some readers
  • Conversations are arranged by topics and are well organized

Cons

  • Compiled by one of Maharshi’s students, which might leave aspects of his teachings open to interpretation
  • The material can sometimes get repetitive

Summary

There you have it.

The books on this list are like the Power of Now and have been penned by some of the most pre-eminent spiritual masters.

So with these recommendations, hopefully, you can’t go far wrong. I’d love to hear how you get on!