5 Wealth-Generating Books Like Think and Grow Rich

Think and Grow Rich belongs to a certain class of early self-help literature that defined the genre and what was to follow.

When you read them, you can’t help but be incredibly inspired, mainly because they ask the reader to take responsibility for their lives and re-establish their personal locus of control.

They then ask you to build on this, introducing positive thinking as a way to instigate beneficial changes in your life, a precursor to the more recent concept of manifestation.

While many of these titles focus on money as and financial wealth as the main metric of success, their teachings can be extrapolated to other areas of life, from relationships to health.

If Think and Grow Rich resonated with you, try these other five book recommendations on for size.

Books Like Think and Grow Rich

1. The Power of Your Subconscious Mind by Dr. Joseph Murphy

In his book The Power of Your Subconscious Mind, Dr. Joseph Murphy explores the vast potential of the human mind.

He argues that the subconscious mind is incredibly powerful and can be harnessed to create positive change in our lives.

Through our thoughts and beliefs, we can program our subconscious mind to attract what we desire, whether it be success, happiness, or good health.

By understanding how the subconscious mind works, we can learn to control our thoughts and use the power of our thoughts to create the life we want.

Murphy provides practical exercises and stories of people who have used the power of their subconscious mind to achieve amazing things.

This is an inspiring and empowering read that shows us just how limitless we really are.

Pros

  • The Power of Your Subconscious Mind is an inspiring and empowering book that shows us just how limitless we really are.
  • It’s an easy read with practical exercises that can be used to program your subconscious mind for success.
  • Applicable to all areas of life – not just financial gain.

Cons

  • The Power of Your Subconscious Mind may be too woo-woo for some readers.
  • There may be excessive religious references for some readers.

Bottom line

The Power of Your Subconscious Mind is an inspiring book that has stood the test of time. With plenty of anecdotes and examples to illustrate his points, this book is a must-read for anyone looking for an inspirational (rather than science-backed) text on the topic.

Read my summary of the book here.

2. Secrets of the Millionaire Mind by T. Harv Eker

In his book, T. Harv Eker sets out to explain the difference between the “Mindset of Success” and the “Mindset of Scarcity”.

He does this by sharing his own story of growing up in poverty and eventually becoming a self-made millionaire.

He also interviewed a number of other millionaires, asking them about their thoughts, emotions, and behaviours around money.

Based on his research, he identified 17 “wealth files” that are common among wealthy people, which include things like having a positive relationship with money, taking risks, and being disciplined with spending.

By understanding and adopting these wealth files, Eker believes that anyone can create financial success for themselves.

Pros

  • This book can help you change your relationship with money.
  • Eker’s 17 “wealth files” are sound principles, derived from personal experience.
  • The book has some wonderful quotes.

Cons

  • Not necessarily anything new or novel for experienced readers of the genre.
  • Eker’s focus on money as the primary metric of success may not resonate with everyone.

Bottom line

Secrets of the Millionaire Mind is short, sweet, and to the point, with some great quotes throughout. If you are looking for a more in-depth exploration of the mind and how it affects our relationship with money, however, you may want to look elsewhere.

3. The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale

The Power of Positive Thinking is a self-help book penned by Norman Vincent Peale and published in 1952.

The book’s central thesis is that with faith in God and oneself, anything is possible.

To that end, the book advocates for the practice of positive thinking as a means of achieving success in all areas of life.

Peale provides readers with techniques for cultivating positive thoughts and maintaining a positive outlook, even in the face of challenges.

He also shares stories of individuals who have overcome adversity through the power of positive thinking.

The book has helped millions of people around the world to change their lives for the better, and its message continues to inspire and encourage readers today.

Pros

  • This book is perfect for those who already believe in the power of manifestation.
  • The book provides readers with techniques for cultivating positive thoughts and maintaining a positive outlook.
  • Contains some material with parallels to modern techniques like cognitive behavioral therapy.

Cons

  • Some readers may find the book slightly dated.
  • The book’s focus on religion may not resonate with everyone.

Bottom line

The Power of Positive Thinking is an inspiring and empowering book which was foundational in the genesis of the self-help genre.

See my summary of the book here.

4. The Richest Man in Babylon by George S. Clason

The Richest Man in Babylon is a book about personal finance and financial success.

The book’s narrator, Arkad, is the richest man in the city of Babylon, who shares his wisdom on wealth and success with his friends, who are all eager to learn his secrets.

Arkad begins by teaching them the importance of saving money.

He explains that, just like a farmer saves seed grain for the next planting season, people should save money so that they will have something to live on when their earning years are over.

He also recommends investing money so that it can grow and provide income in retirement.

The book goes on to discuss other topics such as budgeting, debt, and investment strategies.

The Richest Man in Babylon is an insightful and helpful guide to financial success.

Its clear message and simple advice makes it a valuable resource for anyone looking to improve their financial situation.

Pros

  • The Richest Man in Babylon is a clear and helpful guide to financial success.
  • Its simple advice makes it a valuable resource for anyone looking to improve their financial situation.
  • The book’s message is timeless and relevant to people of all ages.

Cons

  • The core premise is rather straightforward and the information could likely be condensed.
  • The book does not offer any new or innovative ideas on wealth and success.

Bottom line

The Richest Man in Babylon is a classic book on monetary success that should be read anyone who has problems managing their personal finances.

5. The Millionaire Next Door by Thomas J. Stanley and William D. Danko

In The Millionaire Next Door, Stanley and Danko reveal the seven common traits that millionaires share.

They also bust several myths about what it takes to become a millionaire.

For example, contrary to popular belief, most millionaires are not high-income earners.

In fact, many have modest incomes and have accumulated their wealth through years of disciplined saving and investing.

The authors also dispel the myth that most millionaires are inherited their wealth.

In reality, only a small percentage of millionaires are born into wealthy families.

The vast majority of millionaires are self-made, having started with little or no money.

By following the habits of America’s wealthy, readers can increase their chances of joining the ranks of the millionaire next door.

Pros

  • The Millionaire Next Door provides readers with insight into the habits and traits of America’s wealthy.
  • The book dispels several myths about what it takes to become a millionaire.
  • The book’s message is relevant and actionable for anyone looking to generate sustainable wealth.

Cons

  • Some readers may find the book to be too focused on money and material possessions.
  • The book’s advice may not be suitable for everyone, as it requires a certain level of financial discipline.

Bottom line

The Millionaire Next Door is a helpful and informative book on the habits and traits of America’s wealthy, who serve as examples of what really works regarding money.

Summary

Many of us could benefit from challenging our ingrained assumptions, replacing them with more productive patterns of thought.

By doing so, we can become more positive people and encourage effective action.

Not only will this lead to greater financial success, many of the authors above argue, but also cross-pollinate other areas of personal development.