5 Limit-Busting Books Like Can’t Hurt Me

I first watched David Goggins in an Impact Theory interview and was immediately captivated by his straight-talking, no-nonsense approach to life.

I immediately bought his contemporary classic, Can’t Hurt Me and boy, it blew my socks off.

Learning about his childhood and how he overcame the odds to become the mental warrior he is today was awe-inspiring.

For some reason, self-discipline and perseverance are fascinating topics for me and so naturally, I sought other books on the topic.

If Can’t Hurt Me resonated with you, I highly recommend checking out the following titles.

Note: Get a free Audible trial by clicking here and start listening to them today.

Books like Can’t Hurt Me

1. The Fear Bubble by Ant Middleton

In The Fear Bubble, Ant Middleton shares the lessons he learned as a special forces soldier on how to identify and overcome your fears.

Middleton argues that fear is a natural emotion that can be helpful in some situations, but it can also prevent us from reaching our full potential.

He uses examples from his own life and from history to illustrate his points.

Middleton provides practical advice on how to identify and deal with fear, and how to use it to our advantage, providing practical tips for overcoming it in any situation.

The Fear Bubble is an excellent book for anyone who wants to learn how to identify and overcome their anxieties.

It’s also a great choice for those looking for a more military-focused approach to self-improvement.

Pros

  • Practical tips for overcoming fear
  • Lessons from a special forces soldier
  • A unique approach to self-improvement

Cons

  • May be too military-focused for some readers
  • Some readers may find the author’s style too harsh

2. Endurance by Alfred Lansing

Endurance is the incredible true story of Ernest Shackleton and his men’s battle to survive against all odds after their ship, Endurance, was crushed in the Antarctic ice.

In my mind, this draws excellent parallels with Can’t Hurt Me. Perseverance in the face of extreme adversity is one of Goggins’ core messages, and this book is the epitome of human bravery.

Alfred Lansing’s masterful narrative brings to life one of history’s most harrowing tales of human courage and endurance in the face of almost certain death. This is a tale that will grip you from beginning to end.

Pros

  • An unbelievably gritty account that will captivate you unlike many other non-fiction books
  • Learn from real-life events
  • You’ll never complain about the cold again!

Cons

  • Not your traditional self-help book
  • Must be treated more as inspiration rather than for practical value

3. Living with a SEAL by Jesse Itzler

In Living with a SEAL, entrepreneur and author Jesse Itzler chronicles his month-long journey of extending himself to the limit by having former Navy SEAL David Goggins move in with him.

This was in an effort to push himself outside of his comfort zone and challenge himself physically and mentally.

Throughout the book, Itzler details the various challenges he and Goggins face, ranging from everyday tasks like grocery shopping to more extreme challenges like swimming across an icy lake.

Itzler documents the intense physical and mental challenges and mindset that he must adopt.

And although he was no stranger to hard tasks, having previously run 100 miles in 24 hours, this book provides insight into the Goggins mindset, as well as offering readers inspiration to reach their full potential.

At times humorous, Living with a SEAL is ultimately a book that challenges us to re-evaluate our preconceived boundaries.

Pros

  • Motivational and inspirational
  • A unique approach to fitness and self-improvement
  • Eye-opening look into the life of a Navy SEAL

Cons

  • May not offer enough practical insight for some readers
  • Not a traditional self-help book

4. Extreme Ownership by Jocko Willink and Leif Babin

In their book Extreme Ownership, Jocko Willink and Leif Babin share the lessons they learned during their time as US Navy SEALs.

The book is divided into three sections, each of which focuses on a different aspect of leadership.

In the first section, the authors discuss the importance of taking ownership of your actions and decisions.

They argue that leaders must be willing to accept responsibility for both their successes and their failures.

In the second section, the authors discuss the importance of setting clear goals and communicating those goals to their team.

They argue that leaders must be able to articulate what they want to achieve, and then empower their team to work towards those goals.

In the third section, the authors discuss the importance of developing a plan and execute that plan flawlessly.

They argue that leaders must be able to develop a vision for what they want to achieve and then have the discipline to see that vision through.

Throughout the book, the authors share stories from their time in the SEALs during some of the most intense military operations in history.

From leadership and decision-making to executive presence and authority, these lessons can be applied to any situation in life.

Pros

Cons

  • May be too military-focused for some readers
  • Can be overwhelming due to the amount of information presented

5. Finding Ultra by Rich Roll

In his book, “Finding Ultra”, Rich Roll details his unlikely journey from sedentary middle-aged man to one of the world’s most accomplished endurance athletes.

Though he was a successful lawyer, by his early 40s Rich had become overweight and out of shape, excessively eating and drinking to get through the day.

A wake-up call came in the form of a major health scare.

Faced with the prospect of an early death, Rich resolved to turn his life around.

He started working out and eating healthy, and within a few years, he had transformed his body and his mindset.

He went on to compete in some of the most challenging endurance events on the planet, including the famed Ultraman triathlon.

In “Finding Ultra”, Rich chronicles his inspiring story and provides readers with practical advice for making major lifestyle changes.

Whether you’re looking to get in shape or seeking greater fulfillment in your life, this book is sure to motivate and inspire.

Pros

  • An inspirational story of transformation
  • Practical tips for improving your fitness and health
  • Lessons on how to overcome adversity

Cons

  • May be too focused on Rich Roll’s personal journey for some readers
  • Some readers may find the level of detail unnecessary

Summary

If you’re looking for writing to inspire you in seeking high performance, Can’t Hurt Me is a must-read.

Alternatively, check out my condensed summary of the book for the main takeaways.

However, if you’re looking for complementary books, there are plenty of options available.

All of the recommended reads above will teach you to reframe any adverse situation, however subjectively bad it may be.

This is a superpower, offering an extreme advantage over others who may give up at the first sign of struggle.

Strengthening our mindset is a lifelong endeavor and these books are constant companions on the long journey. Enjoy!